Banks and Mobile Service Providers – Please Do Not Disturb Them


The Happy Beginning

One of the most satisfying, or so I thought then, I have improvised my thinking now, happenings of the year 2012 was the Do Not Disturb, or DND as we fondly refer to it as, facility which was started and offered to the mobile phone users in India. The innocent me thought that this would be the end of few of my troubles, little did I know then that this might one day also lead to the beginning of even bigger troubles for me as well. My mobile service provider, I won’t name it here but since there are Very Few service providers in our country it won’t be difficult to guess the name, offered me this service and I grabbed it with lots of hopes for happier times to come.

A few years ago as online banking was gaining prominence, opening account in the bank claiming to offer best of services was a natural choice and an instant decision for me, like for many others. They had many interesting offerings on the plate and things looked set for a happy relationship. However, Howsoever Damn good Financial Company, here again I would refrain from naming the bank, they claim they are, they have been a real disappointment to me for over 2 weeks now.

And I have my reasons for not naming either this mobile service provider or this bank because the issue at hand I think is not limited to either but should be a generic problem spread across both verticals.

The Complicated Today

Coming to my problem; for some online transaction I was using my bank account and my bank needed to send me an SMS with some vital information, but I never got that SMS though I tried many times (like more than 20 times spread over a week). For everyone’s convenience I’ll cut the chase here and would share the highlights, I used the phone banking facility to check what the issue was and in next 7- 8 days I called them at least 8 times (minimum once daily), logged 3 tickets for the same issue, without resolution in sight, all of their executives tried to sell me other financial instruments, none resolved my query, got call from their IT department too, requested for call-backs thrice, never got any call-backs though was promised every time, and even after all these days my problem stands exactly where it was.

On their advice, they put the onus on someone else, the oldest trick in the book, I called my mobile service provider. I called them thrice, first 2 executives put the blame squarely on the bank without resolving the issue – same treatment my bank gave me, the third one had more knowledge perhaps and told me that the problem is the DND facility I had requested last year – the one thing which had promised to give me relief last year had started to haunt me now.

On asking that the messages I was requesting are not promotional messages and are messages I myself have raised a request for, he said that as per them all of them are promotional messages and I’ll not receive them. If it’s coming from your bank, it’s part of DND, period. I conveyed this to my bank and even got their phone banker to clearly mention this in the ticket (3rd ticket in a week) she was logging so that whosoever was taking care of my request would know the exact scenario and not keep me going in circles.

This all happened more than a couple of days ago and even after all this, my bank is yet to offer me a solution. I think either the geniuses at the bank are still figuring out the problem, or they don’t care about the inconvenience their customers face.

The Unspoken Reality

What I can figure out is, they failed to foresee this problem that their essential messages will become part of DND and they either needed to work this out with the mobile service providers in advance, or should have told their customers to be careful while opting for DND and should have advised them to use the flexibility provided there to get banking related SMS (option 1) [I did that now, a solution I figured out on my own and I hope will solve my problem hopefully, though it will take more than a week’s time, another issue]. But like I said, it looks like they had not anticipated this problem. Anyhow, even today, they are not forthcoming, they
are not responding, they are not coming up with a solution, they are not doing anything, they are not bothered at all.

If you ask me, all the people who have DND and are using online banking may be facing this issue, irrespective of their mobile service providers and banks (that’s why I have not named either). In case you are one such individual, I suggest you check this out right away or else you’ll be struck like I am, and with no/restricted access to your bank account, you may be up for some really troublesome days ahead.

Tags: ,

About Rohit Mishra

Quintessential Learner

Leave a Reply

